Jirachi - Pokemon

wenxuan's thought archive

pokemon go

pokemon go 1

I started playing Pokemon Go again. It feels like I’m fulfilling my childhood dream of becoming a pokemon trainer! Pokemon was my everything as a kid, I took pride in knowing every single pokemon from gen 1 to 5. My first serious attempt at art was to draw pokemon. It was a way to bring those little monsters with me beyond my alloted ‘gameboy time’.

This love slowly fizzled out as I grew up, but I still looked back at the series fondly.

My first time playing Pokemon Go was when it came out. I remembered how mind-blowing it was to catch pokemon in my room. I felt that spark again, my heart was burning with excitement. But when I tried venturing outside to catch more, the flame started to get doused by self-consciousnes. I hid my phone in my pocket whenever there were people, I went to quiet places just to catch in peace. Even though the game was an overwhelming global success, I felt embarassed to play it. I eventually deleted it the same week.

It’s been eight years now. I’m 25. You know how they say your brain only fully develops at 25? I think it’s true. I’ve been playing Pokemon Go openly on my way to work and I couldn’t care less about what other people think. It’s because I know that other people couldn’t care less about me either! While struggling to throw a curveball with my laggy Samsung J7 on mobile data, I realised that I’m still using the same phone as I did back then. Glad I’m changing where it matters!

I’ve also discovered my favourite pokemon. Seems like my taste has also changed.

Let me introduce you to my walking buddies!

Screenshot 2024-08-25 083325 Scruffy the Zubat (named after a certain childhood toy of mine)

Screenshot 2024-08-25 083257 Oatchi the Carbink (named after a certain rescue pup from Pikmin 4)

Screenshot 2024-08-25 083356 Siffrin the Wimpod (named after a certain traveller from In Stars and Time)

Screenshot 2024-08-25 083338 小三月 the Goomy (named after a certain pretty girl from Honkai Star Rail)

#writing